Three OIBR Women Taking the Lead

Congratulations to Jody Clay-Warner, OIBR Fellow and Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor and head of the sociology department in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, Maria E. Len-Rios, OIBR Affiliate and associate professor of public relations in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, and Emilie Smith, OIBR Fellow and the Barber Distinguished Professor and head of human development and family science in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences. They are three of the nine female faculty members named 2017-2018 Women’s Leadership Fellows.

“Developing a diverse and talented pipeline of people who can excel in formal and informal leadership roles is vital to maintaining the university’s extraordinary upward trajectory,” said Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Pamela Whitten. “I am delighted to welcome the 2017-2018 class of Women’s Leadership Fellows into the program, and I know that they will make even greater contributions to the University of Georgia in the coming years.”