Prevention and Implementation Science

Bauer,BrianSq2022

Bauer, Brian

Assistant Professor, Psychology 
2022-2024 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | brian.bauer@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Suicide; Behavioral economics; Decisions

Steven R.H. Beach

Beach, Steven R.H.

Regents Professor, Psychology
Co-Director, Center for Family Research
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | srhbeach@uga.edu
Research Interests include preventive intervention, epigenetic processes, family health, and marriage
Caree Cotwright

Cotwright, Caree

Associate Professor, Nutritional Sciences
website | cjcot@uga.edu

Research Interests include childhood obesity prevention, nutrition intervention, sugar sweetened beverages, and wellness best practices

Lillian Eby

Eby, Lillian

Distinguished Research Professor, Psychology 
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | leby@uga.edu

Research Interests include occupational health, relationship science, mentoring, and mindfulness

Fisher, Sycarah website

Fisher, Sycarah

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
2020-22 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | sycarah.fisher@uga.edu

Research Interests include substance use, minorities, African Americans, school mental health, and implementation science

Ted Futris

Futris, Ted

Georgia Athletic Association Professor, Family & Consumer Sciences
website | tfutris@uga.edu

Research Interests include couples, relationships, outreach, evaluation, and community engagement

Galvin,Thania

Galvan, Thania

Assistant Professor, Psychology
website | thania.galvan@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Mental health disparities; Latinx youth & families; Latinx immigrants; Traumatic stress; Risk & Resilience pathways

Jeong-Yeob Han

Han, Jeong-Yeob

Associate Professor, Advertising
website | jeonghan@uga.edu

Research Interests include eHealth communication, social media, online communities, cancer communication, and media effects

Justin Lavner

Lavner, Justin

Associate Professor, Psychology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | lavner@uga.edu

Research Interests include couples, families, prevention, health disparities and LGBTQ

McFarlane, S

McFarlane, Soroya

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2021-23 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | soroyamcfarlane@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, health disparities, community-engaged research, and culture

Glen Nowak

Nowak, Glen

Professor, Advertising Public Relations
Co-director, Grady College Center for Health & Risk Communications
website | gnowak@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, infectious and vaccine preventable disease communication

Orpinas-Sq. 2022

Orpinas, Pamela

Professor, Health Promotion and Behavior
Distinguished Fellow, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | porpinas@uga.edu

Research Interests include preventing family violence, dating aggression, and bullying; improving the lives of immigrant and underserved populations; identifying developmental trajectories of children and youth.

Paul Roman

Roman, Paul

Emeritus Professor, Sociology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | proman@uga.edu

Research Interests include addiction, health services, cannabis, alcohol, and workplace

Jerry Shannon

Shannon, Jerry

Associate Professor, Geography
website | jshannon@uga.edu

Research Interests include food access, food insecurity, participatory research, and urban development

Suhang Song

Song, Suhang

Assistant Professor, Health Policy & Management
website | suhang.song@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Health disparities; Health policy; Health economics; Non-communicable diseases; Cognitive aging

verma

Verma, Amitabh

Associate Professor, Environment + Design
website | averma@uga.edu

Research Interests include drawing, creativity, mental health, urban design, anxiety management, and architecture

Tiffany Washington
Associate Professor
University of Georgia School of Social Work

Washington, Tiffany

Associate Professor, Social Work
website | twashing@uga.edu

Research Interests include aging, chronic disease, health disparities, older adults, implementation science, and intervention fidelity

Elizabeth Wieling

Wieling, Elizabeth

Professor, Human Development & Family Science
website | ewieling@uga.edu

Research Interests include traumatic stress, evidence based interventions for parenting, and Latinx families