Culture

Acheme,Doris

Acheme, Doris

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
website | doris.acheme@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Intergroup and intercultural communication; Social identity negotiation; Language attitudes; Racial ideologies

Mary Ager

Ager, Mary

Associate Professor, Social Work
website | ager@uga.edu

Research Interests: Poverty, social policy, consumer debt, and social media

Banks, Leon

Assistant Professor, Social Work
website | banks03@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Bias, Discrimination, and Inequality, Culture, Diversity, Mental Health, Youth, Adolescence, and Emerging Adulthood

Brody

Brody, Gene

Regents’ Professor Emeritus, Human Development and Family Science
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | 

Research Interests include origins and prevention of chronic diseases

Peter Brosius

Brosius, Peter

Professor, Anthropology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | pbrosius@uga.edu

Research Interests include environmental anthropology, cultural politics of conversation, political ecology, hunter-gatherers, transnational environmental movements and institutions, and human ecology in SE Asia

Geoffrey Brown

Brown, Geoffrey

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
Distinguished Scholar, 2014 GDP Graduate, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | glbrown@uga.edu

Research Interests:  fathering, socioemotional development, infancy, attachment, and African American families

Calabria, Jon
Professor, Landscape Architecture

website | jcalabr@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Assessment and Evaluation, Culture, Diversity, Education and Learning, Environment and Ecosystems, Geographic Information Systems, Survey Methods

Keith Campbell

Campbell, Keith

Professor, Psychology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | wkc@uga.edu

Research Interests include Narcissism, personality, wealth science, and shamanic medicine

Margaret Caughy

Caughy, Margaret

Georgia Athletic Association Professor, Family Health Disparities
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
websitemargaret.caughy@uga.edu

Research Interests include academic achievement, self-regulation, and minoritized populations

Chapman-Hilliard, Collette
Associate Professor, Counseling and Human Development Services

website | collette.hilliard@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Bias, Discrimination, and Inequality, Culture, Diversity, Higher Education, Identity, Mental Health, Mental Illness and Disorders, Survey Methods, Youth, Adolescence, and Emerging Adulthood

Coverdill_0

Coverdill, James

Meigs Professor, Sociology
website | jimcov@uga.edu

Research Interests include sociology of work and organizations, work-hour reforms and surgical work

Jennifer Elkins

Elkins, Jennifer

Associate Professor, Social Work
website | jelkins@uga.edu

Research Interests include sexual abuse and child maltreatment, interpersonal and multigenerational trauma, violence and loss, PTSD and trauma related disorders, ecological/transactional and risk/resilience processes across the lifespan, and culturally congruent research and practice

fields-smith

Fields-Smith, Cheryl

Professor, Educational Theory and Practice
website | cfields@uga.edu

Research Interests include family involvement, sociocultural context of teaching and learning, multicultural education, homeschooling among African American families, and African American educational history

Fisher, Sycarah website

Fisher, Sycarah

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
2020-22 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | sycarah.fisher@uga.edu

Research Interests include substance use, minorities, African Americans, school mental health, and implementation science

Galvin,Thania

Galvan, Thania

Assistant Professor, Psychology
website | thania.galvan@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Mental health disparities; Latinx youth & families; Latinx immigrants; Traumatic stress; Risk & Resilience pathways

German

German, Laura

Professor, Anthropology
Director, Center for Integrative Conservation Research
website |  lgerman@uga.edu

Research Interests include land and environmental governance, property rights, and sub-Saharan Africa

Graizbord, Diana

Graizbord, Diana

Assistant Professor, Sociology
website | dgraizbord@uga.edu

Research Interests include sociology of science, political sociology, globalization, and development and social change

Brian Haas

Haas, Brian

Associate Professor, Psychology
website | bhaas@uga.edu

Research Interests include social and affective functioning in humans, decision making, and individual differences

harrison

Harrison, Ashley

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
website | ashley.harrison@uga.edu

Research Interests include atypical emotional and social attention in childhood psychopathology, information-processing framework to examine the differential developmental trajectory of social attention among individuals with autism spectrum disorders (ASD), and identifying ways to more effectively treat attention impairments

He, Yimin

Assistant Professor, Psychology
website | yiminhe@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Culture, Mental Health, Networks, Organizations, Physical Health and Well-being, Survey Methods, Work and Occupations

Steven Holloway

Holloway, Steven

Professor, Geography
website | holloway@uga.edu

Research Interests include the geography of youth labor markets, the impact of public housing on the geographies of poverty and crime, and the geographically contingent nature of discrimination in mortgage lending

Lapegna, Pablo

Associate Professor, Sociology
2023-2025 Grant Development Program Participant
website | plapegna@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Environmental and rural sociology; Social movements; Political sociology; Health

Lei,Man_Kit_Lei

Lei, Man Kit (Karlo)

Associate Professor, Sociology
website | karlo@uga.edu

Research Interests include epigenetic aging, neighborhood studies, and cardiovascular disease risk

Majewska, Ania

Assistant Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology
website | majewska@uga.edu

Research Interests include:  Culture, Education and Learning, Higher Education, Infectious Disease, STEM, Survey Methods

McFarlane, S

McFarlane, Soroya

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2021-23 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | soroyamcfarlane@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, health disparities, community-engaged research, and culture

Melcher, Katherine
Associate Professor, College of Environment and Design

website | kmelcher@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Aging and Gerontology, Cognition, Culture, Environment and Ecosystems, Ethnography, Gender, Geographic Information Systems, Group Processes and Intergroup Relations, Identity, Mental Health, Obesity, Organizations, Physical Health and Well-being, Policy, Regulation, and Compliance, Prevention and Implementation Science, Youth, Adolescence, and Emerging Adulthood

Mihm, S. 2022

Mihm, Stephen

Professor, History
website | mihm@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Economic history; History of organizations

Nelson,Don

Nelson, Don

Professor, Anthropology
website | dnelson@uga.edu

Research Interests include climate change, environmental governance, poverty, food security, vulnerability, and adaptation

Catherine O'Neal

O’Neal, Catherine

Associate Research Scientist, Human Development & Family Science
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | cwalker1@uga.edu

Research Interests include life course, cumulative life experiences, health and well-being, adolescent life stage, vulnerable populations, military families; racial/ethnic minorities, and health outcomes

Ivanka Pjesivac

Pjesivac, Ivanka

Associate Professor, Journalism
website | ivanka@uga.edu

Research Interests include media effects, international and cross cultural communication, and virtual reality journalism

Dawn Robinson

Robinson, Dawn

Professor, Sociology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
2021 OIBR Service Legacy Award Recipient
website | sodawn@uga.edu

Research Interests include emotion, culture, group processes, and social networks

Michael Robinson

Robinson, Michael

Associate Professor, Social Work
website | marobi01@uga.edu

Research Interests include social problems, juvenile delinquency, urban communities, young adults, women in recovery, nutrition, self care, and health disparities

Hani Safadi

Safadi, Hani

Associate Professor, Management Information Systems
website | hanisaf@uga.edu

Research Interests include healthcare IT, open-source organizing, social media, and online communities

Schlesinger, Ari
Assistant Professor, School of Computing

website | ari.schlesinger@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Bias, Discrimination, and Inequality, Communication, Computational Methods, Culture, Diversity, Education and Learning, Ethnography, Gender, Group Processes and Intergroup Relations, Identity, Media, Organizations, Policy, Regulation, and Compliance, Sexuality and Sexual Identity, STEM, Work and Occupations

Seock, Yoo-Kyoung

Seock, Yoo-Kyoung

Professor, Textiles, Merchandising & Interiors
website | yseock@uga.edu

Research Interests include consumer psychology and behavior, cross-cultural study, and adolescents’ behavioral study

Seponski

Seponski, Desiree

Associate Professor, Human Development & Family Science
website | seponski@uga.edu

Research Interests include trauma, qualitative, mixed methods, marginalized populations, and mental health

Jerry Shannon

Shannon, Jerry

Associate Professor, Geography
website | jshannon@uga.edu

Research Interests include food access, food insecurity, participatory research, and urban development

Dr. Ronald Simons

Simons, Ron

Regents’ Professor, Sociology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | rsimons@uga.edu

Research Interests include social determinants of health, speed of biological aging, and causes of dementia

Cynthia Suveg

Suveg, Cynthia

Professor, Psychology
website | csuveg@uga.edu

Research Interests include child, family, and developmental psychopathology

Tanner, Susan
Associate Professor, Anthropology

website | stanner1@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Chronic Disease, Culture, Ethnography, Exercise, Food & Nutrition, Infectious Disease, Physical Health and Well-being, Prevention and Implementation Science, Risk Behaviors, Survey Methods

Terui,Sachiko

Terui, Sachiko

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2022-2024 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | sterui@uga.edu

Research Interests include HIV, health literacy, health disparities, intervention, and community

Jennifer Jo Thompson

Thompson, Jennifer Jo

Associate Research Scientist, Crop & Soil Sciences
website | jjthomp@uga.edu

Research Interests include food systems, social justice, policy outcomes, risk perception, and sustainable food

verma

Verma, Amitabh

Associate Professor, Environment + Design
website | averma@uga.edu

Research Interests include drawing, creativity, mental health, urban design, anxiety management, and architecture

Watkins, K

Watkins, Kimberly

Assistant Professor, Financial Planning, Housing, and Consumer Economics
website | kimberly.watkins@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Bias, Discrimination, and Inequality, Culture, Diversity, Education and Learning, Emotion, Gender, Identity, Marriage, Family, and Close Relationships, Mental Health, Personality, Physical Health and Well-being, Sexuality and Sexual Identity, Social Psychology, Survey Methods

Elizabeth Wieling

Wieling, Elizabeth

Professor, Human Development & Family Science
website | ewieling@uga.edu

Research Interests include traumatic stress, evidence based interventions for parenting, and Latinx families