Communications

Abney,Drew

Abney, Drew

Assistant Professor, Psychology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
2023 OIBR Rising Star Award Recipient
2020-22 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | drew.abney@uga.edu

Research Interests include sensorimotor development, human interaction, emotion regulation, time series analysis, and language development

Acheme,Doris

Acheme, Doris

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
website | doris.acheme@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Intergroup and intercultural communication; Social identity negotiation; Language attitudes; Racial ideologies

Mary Ager

Ager, Mary

Associate Professor, Social Work
website | ager@uga.edu

Research Interests: Poverty, social policy, consumer debt, and social media

Sun Joo (Grace) Ahn

Ahn, Sun Joo (Grace)

Professor, Advertising
website | sjahn@uga.edu

Research Interests include Interactive digital media; communications; social interactions; virtual experiences; STEM

Jason Anastasopoulos

Anastasopoulos, Jason

Assistant Professor, Political Science and Public Administration and Policy
website | ljanastas@uga.edu

Research Interests:  American politics, bureaucracy, Bayesian statistics, machine learning, and casual inference

Analisa Arroyo

Arroyo, Analisa

Associate Professor, Communication Studies
2015-17 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | arroyo@uga.edu

Research Interests include intergenerational transmission of body image issues and its relation to mental and physical health outcomes (e.g. depression, eating disorders, overweight/obesity, exercise, dieting, etc.) among grandmother-mother-daughter triads

baker

Baker III, Thomas

Professor, Kinesiology 
2013-15 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | tab3@uga.edu

Research Interests: how commercial laws influence sport marking, and on risk management in two specialized areas: (a) preventing sexual abuse in youth sports and (b) terrorism management at sports facilities

Bauer,BrianSq2022

Bauer, Brian

Assistant Professor, Psychology 
2022-2024 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | brian.bauer@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Suicide; Behavioral economics; Decisions

Cacciatore-1

Cacciatore, Michael

Associate Professor and Assistant Department Head, Advertising & Public Relations
website | mcacciat@uga.edu

Research Interests include science communication, risk communication, and framing

Rachel Cagliani

Cagliani, Rachel

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Special Education
website | rcagliani@uga.edu

Research Interests include autism spectrum disorder, communication, and  behavior analysis

Melisa Cahnmann-Taylor

Cahnmann-Taylor, Melisa

Meigs Professor, Language and Literacy Education
website | cahnmann@uga.edu

Research Interests include TESOL, bilingual education, foreign language education, poetry, and theatre

Cooper, Alexandra

Post-doctoral Researcher, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
website | alexandra.cooper@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Instructor reasoning; Research teaching; Science practice instruction

Erin Dolan

Dolan, Erin

Meigs Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Distinguished Scholar, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
2023 OIBR Lillian Eby Mentoring Award Recipient
website | eldolan@uga.edu

Research Interests include research training, mentorship, and career development

Nate Evans

Evans, Nate

Associate Professor, Advertising
website | nevens4@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, vaccine hesitancy, and consumers interaction with/and processing messaging

Halmo, Stephanie

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Cellular Biology
website | shalmo27@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Student thinking; Metacognition; Problem solving; Group work

Jeong-Yeob Han

Han, Jeong-Yeob

Associate Professor, Advertising
website | jeonghan@uga.edu

Research Interests include eHealth communication, social media, online communities, cancer communication, and media effects

Itai Himelboim

Himelboim, Itai

Associate Professor, Advertising & Public Relations
Thomas C. Dowden Professor, Media Analytics
website | itai@uga.edu

Research Interests include social networks, social network analysis, political communication, and health communication

Kristina Jaskyte Bahr

Jaskyte Bahr, Kristina

Professor, Social Work
website | kjaskyte@uga.edu

Research Interests include innovation, design thinking, creativity, and teams

Yan-Jin-32006-026

Jin, Yan

Professor and Assistant Department Head, Public Relations
website | yanjin@uga.edu

Research Interests include crisis, risk, conflict, misinformation, emotion, and social media

Hannah Krimm

Krimm, Hannah

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Special Education
website | hannah.krimm@uga.edu

Research Interests include developmental language disorders, reading, writing, and dyslexia

Kurtz, Hilda

Department Head and Professor, Geography
website | hkurtz@uga.edu

Research Interests include:  Communication, Environment and Ecosystems

Rebecca Lieberman-Betz

Lieberman-Betz, Rebecca

Associate Professor, Communication Sciences & Special Education
website | rglb@uga.edu

Research Interests include special needs, parent responsibility, communication development, autism spectrum disorder, developmental disabilities, early childhood, and special education

Lu, Peng

Assistant Professor, Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communication
website | penglu@uga.edu

Research Interests include:  Communication, Education and Learning, Emotion, Environment and Ecosystems, Experimental Methods, Food & Nutrition, Higher Education, STEM

McFarlane, S

McFarlane, Soroya

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2021-23 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | soroyamcfarlane@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, health disparities, community-engaged research, and culture

Glen Nowak

Nowak, Glen

Professor, Advertising Public Relations
Co-director, Grady College Center for Health & Risk Communications
website | gnowak@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, infectious and vaccine preventable disease communication

Ovid, Dax

Assistant Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology
website | dax@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Curriculum studies; Higher education; Instructor talk; Study abroad

Joe Phua

Phua, Joe

Associate Professor, Advertising
website | joephua@uga.edu

Research Interests include communication technologies, social media, public health, obesity, and smoking

Ivanka Pjesivac

Pjesivac, Ivanka

Associate Professor, Journalism
website | ivanka@uga.edu

Research Interests include media effects, international and cross cultural communication, and virtual reality journalism

Shannon Quinn

Quinn, Shannon

Associate Professor, Computer Science
website | spq@uga.edu

Research Interests include developing large-scale algorithms and machine learning toolboxes to improve public health, and research specialization in biomedical imaging and biosurveillance

Ratcliff, C

Ratcliff, Chelsea

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2021-23 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | chelsea.ratcliff@uga.edu

Research Interests include health communication, science communication, message design, precision medicine, and research recruitment

Glenna Read

Read, Glenna

Associate Professor, Advertising & Public Relations
2022-2024 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | glenna.read@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Video surveillance; Video interpretation bias; Media effects; Social representation; Message processing; Decision-making

Schlesinger, Ari
Assistant Professor, School of Computing

website | ari.schlesinger@uga.edu

Research Interests include: Bias, Discrimination, and Inequality, Communication, Computational Methods, Culture, Diversity, Education and Learning, Ethnography, Gender, Group Processes and Intergroup Relations, Identity, Media, Organizations, Policy, Regulation, and Compliance, Sexuality and Sexual Identity, STEM, Work and Occupations

Sheagley, Geoffrey

Sheagley, Geoffrey

Associate Professor, Political Science
website | geoff.sheagley@uga.edu

Research Interests include political psychology, political polarization, decision-making, and political knowledge

Terui,Sachiko

Terui, Sachiko

Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
2022-2024 GDP Participant, Owens Institute for Behavioral Research
website | sterui@uga.edu

Research Interests include HIV, health literacy, health disparities, intervention, and community

verma

Verma, Amitabh

Associate Professor, Environment + Design
website | averma@uga.edu

Research Interests include drawing, creativity, mental health, urban design, anxiety management, and architecture

Bart Wojdynski

Wojdynski, Bart

Associate Professor, Journalism
website | bartw@uga.edu

Research Interests include design, visual attention, news, advertising, and effects of images on persuasion

Theresa Wright

Wright, Theresa

Sr. Public Service Associate, Carl Vinson Institute of Government
website | tawright@uga.edu

Research Interests include program evaluation, QUAL data collection, performance measurement, and survey research

Henry Young

Young, Henry

Professor and Department Head, Clinical & Administrative Pharmacy
website | hnyoung@uga.edu

Research Interests include health services research, medication use, health communication, minority, and underserved populations