Two OIBR Faculty Members Named SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows


Two OIBR Faculty Members Named SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows

Scott Ardoin, OIBR Fellow, and Thomas Mote, OIBR Affiliate, are two of four faculty members that were selected as the university’s 2018-2019 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows.

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program, which celebrated its 10th anniversary last year, focuses on developing academic leaders within the Southeastern Conference through workshops, networking and campus activities. Fellows will meet with campus leaders throughout the year as well as attend two SEC-wide workshops that help develop leadership skills and an awareness of challenges and opportunities in higher education.

Ardoin, head of the department of educational psychology in the College of Education and co-director of the UGA Center for Autism and Behavioral Education Research, currently serves as education division chair for the Association for Behavior Analysis International and president-elect of the Society for the Study of School Psychology. Ardoin researches applied behavior analysis within school settings and is currently employing eye-tracking technology to study students’ reading comprehension and test taking behavior.

Mote, the associate dean for the physical and mathematical sciences in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and a Distinguished Research Professor of Geography, previously served as head of the department of geography and founding director for the Atmospheric Sciences Program at UGA. Mote has worked on numerous projects with NASA, NOAA, the National Science Foundation and Department of Energy. He was named a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society in 2017 and a Fulbright scholar to Brazil in 2008.

To read more, go here