First recipient of Lillian Eby OIBR Mentoring Award announced

Dr. Lawrence Sweet was awarded the inaugural Lillian Eby OIBR Mentoring Award at our recent annual meeting.

Sweet, an OIBR Distinguished Scholar and Gary R. Sperduto Professor in Clinical Psychology in Franklin College, joined the University of Georgia faculty in 2012. He received a K award with mentee, Jiaying Lui, OIBR Distinguished Scholar and associate professor of Communication Studies and he also received a K award with mentee Assaf Oshri, OIBR Distinguished Scholar and associate professor of Human Development and Family Science. Prior to coming to UGA, Sweet was the mentor on five other grant awards.

His research interests include substance abuse and treatment outcomes (tobacco, vaping, alcohol, opiates), cardiovascular disease, aging, and outcomes of chronic stress and adversity. In collaboration with Dr. Liu, they recently received a R21 grant entitled, “A neuroimaging approach to advance mechanistic understanding of tobacco use escalation risk among young adult African American vapers.”

Dr. Sweet has received several other mentoring awards including the Richard L. Marsh Mentoring Award (UGA Psychology) and is a two-time recipient of the Psychiatry Research Mentor Award in the Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

“Mentoring is my favorite part of my job. Recognition from the outstanding faculty and staff at OIBR is a true honor. Their outstanding facilitation of research and mentorship is highly respected, and this association with Lillian Eby’s record of mentorship and service is such a compliment,” said Sweet.